Thread: So far, so great!

CaFFeinE is offline Somewhat Logical

So far, so great!

Hi all, new guy here, just got setup this month, but I am seriously impressed.

A little background for ya:

I'm one of those people who remembers fondly the BBS days, and built my first website in 1996. By 1999, I was a webmaster/designer for a local bookstore and a number of other small sites, we did ok, we had hosting at places like Simple-Hosting and later on had our own VPS as our venture grew to include five domains and a site that had 2M hits a month.

I had my domain there as well as a site for our music label...Loads of fun.

Except our VPS was with Eryxma...who went and ran off not only with our money after overbilling us, but never gave back our data. I lost about two years of work, PSD's, etc. It destroyed our whole biz. ( yes, I had CDR, but not of enough)

I bailed, and got my own hosting for my personal site, which went well, for almost 2yrs.
    Then, the fan got dirty the last few months. Excessive (like a whole day) outages with no explaination or even an email, claims of "insufficient time to provide support..", etc.

I got fed up, and started shopping, smarter this time. After spending literally days reading WHT, and other reviews, and reading these forums looking for issues...I emailed Idologic with pre-sales questions. I was pleasantly surprized to see real humans seeming to care.

I used Paypal to signup, which wasn't easy, but they never got mad, or told me to forget it. They were very communicative and helpful, and got me through it. Then, I needed help moving the site, as it'd been made while I had DSL, which now I didn't. The idea of having to move 200Mb+ of files to-and-from on dial-a-crap was appalling. No worries though, they moved it all for me, and even set it up so I had the same username and paths so I didn't have b0rked scripts/logins/etc.